RSS feeds

I left a comment on Dave’s blog about RSS feeds and I thought I would just record it here too as I have meaning to write about it anyway…

Hi Dave – thanks for the comments. I use bloglines too (Leigh told me about it last year) and although it was a slow start getting used to using it – as long as I open it up when i get on my computer it is easy to fit into my working environment. My partner however has discovered google reader, which is part of google’s takeover bid. If you are a gmail user you can set up your gmail account to show both your e-mails and rss feeds in one screen, which cuts down an all your open tabs. He also uses the google toolbar to keep a track of his favourites which works more like your browser toolbar for availability than say del.icio.us which requires that you have to visit another website everytime you want to bookmark something. Its plus is that it is available anywhere you sign in to your gmail account if your browser allows it. I’m planning on giving it a try myself if time allows…Anyway, I should blog this info myself, but i thought i would say Hi. Cheers, Rachel (www.flexiblelearningrach.wordpress.com)

Also – now that google own bloglines anyway i think there is an option to connect to them through gmail too – i’ll try and find out all the answers to these questions and more!

*Please note: Google DOES NOT own Bloglines as stated previously in this post. (I do think there is a way to read it through your gmail though – i’ll update you on that…..if i can! Confused becasue I sign in with my gmail account….) I apologise for any confusion or misleading that this may have caused.

“Bloglines was founded in 2003 by Mark Fletcher, the former CEO of ONElist (acquired by Yahoo! in 2000 and now operating as Yahoo! Groups). The company is a property of IAC Search & Media, a wholly-owned business of IAC/InterActiveCorp (NASDAQ: IACI). and is headquartered in the San Francisco Bay Area. You can find out more about IAC Search & Media at www.ask.com and IAC at www.iac.com. You can read Mark Fletcher’s personal blog at www.wingedpig.com. Or contact user support

2 thoughts on “RSS feeds

  1. Google owns Bloglines ?! WTF I didn’t know this. Do you have a link you could send me?

    The bummer about GoogleReader is apart from having all your eggs in the one baskett, is that GReader is not socially networked. In bloglines, when I subscribe to a feed, it tells me who else is subscribed and from that I can sometimes pick up other good feeds. A bit like the socially networked power of Delicious.

    Also, you can publish your bloglines account, which means that teachers can more easily share feeds with each other (such as groups of student feeds). See as you’re a bloglines user, you can look at my public account and quickly add subscriptions from my account to your own. Try it out.

    Not so easy with GReader, unless you’reinto exporting OPML files…

  2. whoops! i backtrack…Google DOES NOT own bloglines! i remember now why i hadn’t posted this information before – it’s because of the socially networked argument! Hee hee, thanks for keeping me right Leigh!

Leave a Reply

