Pay Attention…

“Since most of today’s students can appropriately be labeled as “Digital Learners”, why do so many teachers refuse to enter the digital age with their teaching practices?

This presentation was created in an effort to motivate teachers to more effectively use technology in their teaching.”

and my response….?

hmmm..initial thoughts…

1. preaching to the converted? (youTubers)
2. random sources for ‘facts’, including a t-shirt slogan (?) made me instantly sceptical and wary at skewed stacking of ‘statistics’
3. learning should not only reflect technological delivery methods, and should be careful not to exclude those that cannot afford it, access it, etc.
4. american, and more or less relevant in areas because of this
5. nice music – made the experience much more enjoyable
6. i agree with alot of it: we should be (and are!) looking at methods for delivering education that are inclusive, flexible, relevant, and (in some ways) driven by the learners. But we also need to be realistic, measured and informed in the ways that we go about it.

I’ve had a quick look at T4’s website though and i think that it may be an interesting resource, i’ll have a more thorough look and report back.

I think my main problem with the video is that it has a negative, insinuating tone that implies I am not doing enough, which doesn’t motivate me to join their campaign (regardless of content) or find out anything more about them:  is this the best way to motivate anyone to learn something new…?!!!

3 thoughts on “Pay Attention…

  1. I agree Rach. Its a bit like the messages we get regarding global warming, human waste and starvation, animal cruelty, war and all those things. The negative messages hardly motivate us to engage. The weight of it is too much. No wonder we prefer sport and art, keeps it all a safe distance away. You’re the first one I’ve heard of to go through to the website though!! so maybe it worked just a little bit… Hope you get something from the ideas there, and blog what you do or don’t like about them.

  2. Hi Rachel
    My thought too were just another boring fact producing video with music that made me just about go to sleep at the end. It did open my mind in the thinking of it though, that I had not really put much thought into how we can use cell phones and I pods to teach, but that is the future of teaching I suppose
    cheers jacquie

  3. I thought the video was ok it went over a lot of the ideas and theories I have about learning especially adult learners. I liked the mention of the different intelligences. I would like to know how using cellphones in a group class setting would work and how antsy that could make the teacher/lecturer.
    Lyn

Leave a Reply

