What is a wiki?

In answer to the first question i set myself when i headed off to look at wikis…

Straight from the horses mouth – totally valuable:

The purpose of WikiEducator

The WikiEducator is an evolving community intended for the collaborative:

  • planning of education projects linked with the development of free content;
  • development of free content on Wikieducator for e-learning;
  • work on building open education resources (OERs) on how to create OERs.
  • networking on funding proposals developed as free content.

Our community values…

We believe:

  • In the social inclusion and participation of all people in our networked society (Access to ICTs is a fundamental right of knowledge citizens – not an excuse for using old technologies).
  • In the freedoms of all educators to teach with the technologies and contents of their choice, hence our commitment to Free/Libre and Open Source technology tools and free content.
  • That educational content is unique – and by working together we can improve the technologies we use as well as the reusability of digital learning resources.
  • In a forward-looking disposition working together to find appropriate and sustainable solutions for e-learning futures.

So, this is a bit narrower in that it is wikieducator specifically, and not wikipedia, or any other use of a wiki, which could be as simple as friends chatting in one space and time as a more sensible alternative to lots of e-mails flying back and forward – but I think it is good to have a context around my questions (i.e. the purpose of this paper – education – learning) or else I go too far thinking about all the possibilities 🙂

So this is my start – next – set up a page on DESIGN THEORY AND DESIGN MODELS for this assignment. I guess my first problem is, how will this page be coherent is we are all looking at different design models that are specific to our own topics? I guess, we will just all have to work this out as we go.

-the other questions I set myself:
( -What are the benefits to using a wiki in a learning/educational situation?
-How can I use a wiki either for my own learning, or to facilitate other people’s learning (or both)?)

can also wait until I get started I think – the doing of this assignment should give me some insights…

Leave a Reply

