a google world view

It’s impossible not to be swayed by the many influences of google in our (online) lives, and most recently the proliferation not only of google applications but the comment, parody, and artworks that are being created round them. So after having absorbed as many articles, artworks, images, media stories and blog feeds as I can about who’s doing what with this stuff ‘out there’, here’s a quick round up of my fav bits.

My Favourite Artwork: City of Wax: Su Ballard

City of Wax uses google earth as my location and command-shift-4 as my camera shutter.”

This beautiful body of photographic works is currently being published as an artist book that takes you round the world through google’s satellite lens. Noticing glitch and surface, Ballard seeks to view the world from this uncomfortably voyeuristic yet all to common an angle.

I’ve seen other projects  around that have similar tropes, but I have also seen these images printed and believe me when i tell you that they transform in front of your eyes, once out of the screen. Ballard notices the little things, and these details, in City of Wax, become the big things.

My Favourite Image

This one is for you Su!

As much as I love your images, this is the one that sums up for me what we’re all trying to do out there: who’s watching the watchers???

no-one, themselves?

This is an image from google’s latest: The Google Art Project

A reflection of Google’s camera in a mirror at the Palace of Versailles

My Favourite Article: Virtual Museums: Frieze Magazine

I urge to follow the above link and read the article that unwraps the google art project in terms of the art world, and our view of what art is, or should be…and according to whom? (It is also, incidentally, where I found the camera image above.) It traces the reproducibility of artworks from the advent of photography, what can and should be photographed, through to the digital reproduction in the Google Art Project, via Walter Benjamin and André Malraux. It’s a thoughtful and easy to read article, that leaves us with a big question on google’s control of our cultural heritage…

Leave a Reply

